Heartland Community Foundation

Announces the 2023-24 Youth Action Council Members


HAYS, KS -- The Heartland Community Foundation is thrilled to announce the selection of the 2023-24 Youth Action Council (YAC) members. The YAC program, designed for high school students in Ellis, Rooks, and Trego counties, aims to foster leadership skills, encourage philanthropy, and cultivate a deeper sense of community pride among young individuals.

The Heartland Community Foundation firmly believes in the potential of young people to create positive change in their communities. The YAC program offers an opportunity for these aspiring leaders to develop their knowledge of grants, engage in community projects, and build essential life skills. By participating in YAC, these students become catalysts for growth and innovation in Ellis, Rooks, and Trego counties.

The Heartland Community Foundation congratulates the following students:

Ellis County


Lexi Burton, Hays High, senior

Henry Fitzthum, Hays High, senior

Jake Brady, TMP-Marian, junior

Aiden Burton, Hays High/KAMS, junior

Ben Dome, Victoria High, junior

Breanna Seiler, TMP-Marian, junior


Amelia Herrman, TMP-Marian, senior

Madelyn Rozean, TMP-Marian, senior

Addison Kohl, Ellis High, junior

Brody Nowak, Victoria High, junior

Aurora Nowlin, Victoria High, junior

Jenna Brull, TMP-Marian, sophomore

Payten Burd, Ellis High, sophomore

Savannah Clingan, Hays High, sophomore

Rooks County


Lucina Parson, Palco High, senior

Raegan Shepherd, Stockton High, senior

Kenzie Wells, Palco High, senior

Taylor Ayers, Plainville High, junior

Marlie Dobson, Plainville High, junior

Aubrey Kesler, Stockton High, junior


Ava Dix, Stockton High, junior

Bodye Stithem, Stockton High, junior

Trinity Couse, Palco High, sophomore

Kate Hansen, Plainville High, sophomore

Cheyenne Hoeting, Stockton, sophomore

Trego County


Annabelle Malsam, Trego High, senior

Mia Coleman, Trego High, junior

Hunter Yingling, Trego High, junior


Myah Mattheyer, Trego High, senior

Adrian Wynn, Trego High, senior

Kallan Rothchild, Trego High, sophomore

"We are incredibly proud to welcome these talented and passionate students to the Youth Action Council," said Sarah Meitner, executive director, of the Heartland Community Foundation. "Their dedication to community service and their enthusiasm for making a difference will undoubtedly contribute to the success of the YAC program and the betterment of our communities."

The Youth Action Council meetings will be held once a month during the school day, with locations rotating among the high schools in each county. The members will also have the opportunity to participate in a retreat in Hays and develop and volunteer for a service project. The Heartland Community Foundation expects these young leaders to actively engage in discussions and activities and serve as advocates for the Youth Action Council, the Heartland Community Foundation, and the youth in the community. Next fall, the Youth Action Council will also host a Scholarship 101 meeting in each county for high school juniors and seniors. More information will be shared about that event at a later time.

For more information about the Youth Action Council and the Heartland Community Foundation, please visit www.heartlandcommunityfoundation.org.