Board of Directors

The Heartland Community Foundation is operated by part time executive director and a volunteer board made up of local community members. Their dedication, knowledge, and passion for Ellis, Rooks and Trego Counties are what drives the Community Foundation.

Hardy Howard, Chairperson
Kelli Hansen, Vice-Chairperson
David Herl, Treasurer
Katie Dorzweiler, Secretary
Jenna Dempewolf, Board Member
Christi Desormiers, Board Member
Josh Dreher, Board Member
Kayla Hilbrink, Board Member
Donna Hudson-Hamilton, Board Member
Seth Kastle, Board Member
Todd Powell, Board Member
Kathy Ramsay, Board Member
Gina Riedel, Board Member
Sally Lowry, Board Member Emeritus
Robert Muirhead, Board Member Emeritus
Nikki Pfannenstiel, Board Member Emeritus
Sandy Jacobs, Executive Director
Erin Hughes, Contract Staff Member

Recent News

Community foundation accepting spring grant applications

HAYS, Kan.—The Heartland Community Foundation, which serves Ellis, Rooks and Trego Counties, is accepting applications for spring grants. Online applications open March 15 are due Saturday, May 15, 2021. This year, over $180,000 is available to charitable projects in Ellis, Rooks and Trego Counties, with more than $50,000 available per county. This cycle will fund local community projects that meet one or more of the following criteria: Projects focused on improving quality of life. Projects that support the public health of Ellis, Rooks and Trego Counties. Projects supporting education, health care, community social services and security, conservation and environment, arts and culture, and community[...]

Heartland Community Foundation Announces New Executive Director

Heartland Community Foundation Announces New Executive Director HAYS, KS – The Heartland Community Foundation (HCF) is pleased to announce the appointment of a new executive director. Sarah Meitner, of Hays, assumes the role effective this week, following the impending retirement of director, Sandy Jacobs. Sandy served as executive director of the Heartland Community Foundation for five years, leading to its substantial growth throughout the three counties it serves: Ellis, Rooks, and Trego counties. She will remain with the Foundation at least through Dec. 31, 2020, and is committed to ensuring a smooth transition. Sarah brings to the position a background in marketing,[...]